coffee with an artist

Had coffee later today on Portobello Road with artist Donna Mclean. We discussed  the whole idea of ‘packing it in’ – the artistic life and all that. I told her of the time I got into bed and cried in August 2007, when my novel had been rejected 12 times. How could I possibly throw my hat in with the likes of Gore Vidal etc.

We both know we never will. What else could we possibly do? We also discussed Osho, David Ike, people who still don’t know what they want to do with their lives, aged 45, (oh, the pressures of individualism) – there was Benny and the Jets playing in the background. Then I lost my Oyster card and had a minor panic – and when I found it and showed it to Donna she was surprised that it didn’t come in a kind of pearl colour or in a shell or oyster shape – oh – and she thinks of packing it in.

Donna had a computer for a year and has gone back to Dial-up for fear of its sinister influence. I buy my first mobile phone tomorrow.

~ by moniqueroffey on February 4, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
