Sonnet 18 for V Day

Valentine’s Day looms. I have decided to embrace it by hosting LOVE READINGS – chez moi. The idea is that some gorgeous friends come over for tea with wine and cake and poems to read, poems about love, the heart, or simply about what it means to be human.

I am thinking of kicking off the afternoon with the most famous love poem ever written – by William Shakespeare for his young male lover. Sonnet 18.

Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?

Perfect English sonnet. I had to committ it to memory when I did Versification with Mimi last year. But unfortuately it did not quite get committed.

I will contemplate my list of possible poems to read. So many others spring to mind. The one about Plums by William Carlos Williams, Fetish by Christopher Reid.

hmmmm.

I will get back to you.

~ by moniqueroffey on February 11, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
