Tail of the Blue Bird

Just back from the launch of Tail of the Blue Bird, the debut novel of Nii Ayikwei Parkes. It’s a whodunit set in a small village in Ghana where customs have not chnaged for a hundred years. It is a meditation on the troublesme relationhip betwen modernity and custom. I’m ten pages in ( on the tube home) and already seduced by Nii’s lucid and poetic prose.

I know Nii from Arvon days. I vividly recall a conversation I had with him in the summer of 2005 in the office at Totleigh about our respective novels. We were at the same stage with them; polishing the final draft, worried they might not sell etc. So it’s a real pleasure to attend this launch and to know that I will also be publishing this summer too, that both of our novels made it out into the world. Congrats Nii.

Some lovely people were there, my great supporter Maggie Gee, my mates Julia Bell and Jeremy Sheldon.  Also Kadija Sessay, Matth Thorne and  Lucky Luck – who is Amanda Smyth’s agent. I’m having lunch with Amanda on Friday – yes, we’e going to meet! Hurrah.

Two days in – detox going well. I ran half  a mile today and did 35 sit ups in one minute. Lots of raw beetroot.

~ by moniqueroffey on June 2, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
