The School of Love

Spent the weekend at the School of Life. I attended a course on Love taught by the philosopher Robert Rowland Smith. It was a mixture of Western academic thinking and literature on love, some ‘constellation’ work (pioneered by Burt Hellinger) and quite a bit of inter-active group work. An awful lot, in fact, packed into two days. We also had a lecture by a neuro-scientist, Dr Ash Ranpura, (the partner of my friend the writer Susan Elderkin) about the brain chemistry of love. The School of Life is a good thing: a modern day version of the Victorian salon/club for thinkers. They do courses, and holidays and talks and even ‘conversation evenings’.

Meanwhile, I ate Neil’s lunch today.  I am being tortured by my new personal trainer, Andre. I bumped into fellow author and supporter of my work Maggie Gee at the gymn. Writing going well. Detox shot to hell. I start again today. No ciggies, especially.

~ by moniqueroffey on June 8, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
