Launch of The White Woman on the Green Bicycle

My second novel, The White Woman on the Green Bicycle, was launched last night at The Travel Bookshop, Notting Hill. Many attended, including philosophers (Robert Rowland Smith) , tantrik Goddesses Georgie, fellow authors (Maggie Gee and Sean Thomas, aka Tom Knox), artists and my trainer, Andre Williams who can run 100 meters in ten seconds.

While I wrote this book on my own with my own fair hand, I had lots of support, in the from of sound PhD supervision  at Lancaster University – with the writer Jo Baker. In the form of financial assistance from the AHRC and RLF – in the form of sound industry support – from Isobel Dixon at BF and Fransesca Main at SS and in the form of generous backing from literary authors such as Maggie Gee, Sarah Hall and Olive Senior. All in all, this book already feels blessed and now happily launched into the universe.

We drank wine and celebrated. A Trinidadian actor called Patrice Edwards read out the opening pages of the novel, which was so compelling I totally got swept up and forgot who wrote it. Bam, baf, whadap. Ouch. Poor Talbot.

Later, a major fire broke out in a buiding a block away. We watched the billowing thick grey smoke. Fire engines arrived in minutes. At my last book launch a baby was born outside on the pavement. What is it about books launches? There was something in the air last night. Full moon. The anniversary of the 2005 bombings.

Today I have been hung over and had to cancel all duties, including my meeting with Andre. Thank you Travel Bookshop. Another team.

~ by moniqueroffey on July 8, 2009.

3 Responses to “Launch of The White Woman on the Green Bicycle”

  1. Hi Monique, Congratulations I finally got to read the rest of the book – very compelling to keep reading. I have put info on my blog too at http://cafemokagallery.blogspot.com/. Went to visit S and S with Emma while in UK. When is launch in TnT?

  2. Carole, I’m launching the book in Trinidad on the 14th September – what’s your e-address. The one I have keeps bouncing back.
    Mx

  3. ahlan

Leave a Reply

 
