Hoo-ha

Wow. Friends and students of mine, in their keenness to support me, have written mini-reviews of my book on the Guardian’s Not the Booker site. This has caused all sorts of hoo-ha. Suspicions of spamming and industry rallying etc.  No – just some nice friends who have enjoyed the book, wish me well and want to help.

Of course, some of the nominations could also have come from my 77 year old Mum – who is passionate about me and my book.

~ by moniqueroffey on August 6, 2009.

8 Responses to “Hoo-ha”

  1. Your Mum! Bless her. I’m sure mine would do the same. Sorry about this hoo-ha. Do feel free to post on the blog yourself if you think that will help clear things up… I’ll link to this post now… If it’s any compensation, at least quite a few more people will have heard of the book now.

  2. Love me or hate me, but don’t ignore me. Someone once said that. Not ignored, at least. Does that make you feel better? No?

  3. Yes. Being ignored is by far the worst thing that can happen to a writer.

    I know well the desperate feeling it gives you too… You should have seen my own attempts to publicise a book I once wrote about cults when my publisher went bankrupt just before it came out. There are probably dozens of shameless plugs still extant on the interwebs, in fact. From myself rather than friends too.

  4. Thanks for your words of support Sam. I fear there had been a senese of humour bypass at one stage. I will certainly clear things up and post on your site.

  5. Thank you Curly Cotton Pants. Be my friend.
    Mx

  6. Yeah, I was only joking. Really. I put that comment in to make Monique laugh. I hope it came across like that. If it didn’t sound I’m really sorry. The thing is, I’ve looked at the Guardian blog and it’s a bit scary. Some people take themselves very seriously and obviously value their ideas about things above reality. Which is that some people who love your book got behind you on the nominations. Hey, where exactly does it say that one nomination is all that is needed and anyway? Bubbling with enthusiasm, there are a number of books that have been nominated more than once. Never mind. The reality is that your book is written beautifully – and I am a bit fussy. So, coming from me…

  7. Dear Ms Roffey

    Thank you for your kind offers of an enema and a pint. I would like to accept, provided you don’t get them mixed up.

    Best of all, this hoo-ha has inspired me to get hold of a copy of your novel and I look forward to reading it.

    Best wishes

    John Self

  8. Hi John Self,

    Now that’s a turn up for the books! A pint it is then, and we can discuss both enemas and books.
    I’m off teaching tomorrow in Skyros till the 23rd August. I know it’s miles off but I could do Monday 24th or Weds 26th August. You choose where. Can you make either date?
    Mx

Leave a Reply

 
