Days in the Life of…

Mad week. Just back from Skyros where I was teaching at The Writer’s Lab for two weeks. Taught fab home writing group on Tuesday night – one of my students is off to do an MA in Creative Non-Fiction at City – congrats Maria.  Coffee with Melanie Abrahams, then today had lunch with Tom and Georgie – and then Tom ‘retrieved my soul’ and boosted my imune system with a funny machine. The Notting Hill Carnival looms – it’s August bank hols again. Again I’ll miss it, though I do plan to hang out  a bit on All Saint’s Road tomorrow night and listen to the pannist tuning up. A huge shame they moved Panorama from Kensal Road.

I’m flying to Marseille on Saturday to go camping for a week with tantric shaman  John Hawken and a small group of people. We plan to go to the Carmargue to visit The Cave of Mary Magdalene and investigate ‘the feminine principal’, all more research for the current book. Anyone who knows me, will know I’m not a camper.

Meanwhile, I signed some copies of WWOGB in Foyles – nice they are supporting me. My editor took me out for lunch and we discussed the new book – she likes it and we discussed shaping it. The e-circus of Not the Booker coninues to ramble on. I’ll eat my flatmate – the poet Neil Rollinson – should the Palumbo book win.

The summer feels droopy – like it’s winding down already. Annoying, innit? I have a date with my trainer Andre Williams toomorrow – and another 12 laps. I wonder if having my soul back will help?

~ by moniqueroffey on August 27, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
