WWOGB – launched in Port of Spain

The Reader's Bookshop, St James, 11th Sept 09

The Reader's Bookshop, St James, 11th Sept 09

Well, my recent novel, The White Woman on the Green Bicycle was launched in Port of Spain last night at The Reader’s Bookshop owned by book man par excellance Chris Mendes. I enjoyed the evening thoroughly despite the fact that 150 copies of the novel were held up in customs at Piarco airport. Launching a book about your place of birth a millions miles away is one thing. I did that in July, in London. But launching a book about your home town in your home town, where some of the characters in my book are in the audience, is another thing altogether.

Many nice people came, including film maker Francesca Hawkins, book editor Jeanne Mason, publisher Gerry Besson, local writer Joanne Johnson, another book man Simon Lee and other journalists from The Trinidad Guardian and the soon to be launched Caribbean Vogue. Lots of old friends turned up too. Mads, Herms, Michele, Rute…

Thanks to all those who turned up in support – and thanks to Chris from the shop. And to my brother Nigel for taking us for a much needed roti in St James afterwards. Smoky and Bunty on a Friday night – a few short stories there. The place still rocks. My editor, Francesca Main, from Simon and Schuster UK is here with me, and coping well with the local…er….colour.

~ by moniqueroffey on September 12, 2009.

7 Responses to “WWOGB – launched in Port of Spain”

  1. Hi Monique:

    I have recently discovered Trinidadian authors after being away from Trinidad for over 34 years in the US. My most recent read was by Amanda Smyth. I am having difficulty locating any of your books in the US through the usual book chains (Barnes & Noble, Borders, etc.). Can you tell me if your books are available in here in the US and where I can purchase them?

  2. So far my novel has not been bought by a US publisher. So till then, I’m afarid you’ll have to order from Amazon UK. But thank you for your interest! Mxx

  3. I have just purchased your book in South Africa from Wordsworth—managed to get the last copy—-actually bought it for my mother.She seems to be enjoying it so far but has commented that it was graphic about violence at the start,but if thats what it is thats what it is…I know T & T very well and look forward to reading it as well.

  4. Monique thanks for the telephone #, I will be calling as soon as i get to London early next year.
    The photo above surely features the proud MOM.

    Your book was very interesting for me as well as eerie.
    I had goose bumps for so many of the chapters.
    i must say, though, WELL DONE.
    Nobody else could have made Trinidad of my early years come back to me and be so real, as you.
    thanks and congratulations on an excellent book.

    Adam

  5. I am a trinidadian currently living in South Africa and I was most pleased to find your book at an Exclusive Bookstores here in Cape Town. A book about Trinidad, I thought as it was a most unexpected find in this small outlet. I have finished reading it tonight and I just wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed it. I must say it brought out many emotions in me to do with the issues of my beloved Island (that are unfortunately the reality) and from being an observer in the couples marriage. I really felt the sadness and negativity from the couple. Reading the familiar names of people, places and food helped my homesickness as well! I am definitely telling my friends and family about this one. When does the movie come out? : ) Much blessings to you!

  6. Thank you for your comments and kind words. I am so glad you have enjoyed my book. No movie deal, yet!
    Mxx

  7. Wonderful items from you, man. I have consider your stuff prior to and you are just
    too wonderful. I really like what you’ve obtained right here, certainly like what you are saying and the way in which in which you assert it. You make it entertaining and you continue to take care of to stay it sensible. I can not wait to learn far more from you. This is really a great web site.

Leave a Reply

 
