Cuba in the morning

I fly to Havana tomorrow morning. Can’t wait. And yet I’m also apprehensive. Plane trips always make me nervous. Will I oversleep? Miss the taxi, the Gatwick Express, forget my passport etc – the whole getting there thing, (and that’s just to the check-out counter), makes me antsy. Then, I’ll be teaching, and also co-leading a group. Will I fall in love with Cuba? Yes. What if I hate it? What if….I get lost, mugged, arrested? Can you buy Tampax in Cuba? 

I’m not sure why I’m feeling so strange about this trip. I’ve had many this year. This is the last. Maybe that’s it – I’ve been  away a lot. Soon it will be Christmas, then another year. I’m feeling end of year blue. It’s ten years since the millenium New Year – it’s the end of a decade.  End of decade blues?

Either way, it’s Cuba in the morning. I’ll fit in one last adventure.  Back in ten days.

~ by moniqueroffey on November 14, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
