strong coffee, buns and being a writer

Just focusing on my emails, over coffee and toasted buns, when that nice Mr John Self sent me the following online review. Sigh. Made my day. I feel a warm glow spread through me.

http://blog.otherstories.co.uk/2010/04/the-white-woman/

For what it’s worth it’s reviews like this, come from outside the media, that make a writer’s life all add up. A writer’s life? Currently, I am long-listed for the Orange Prize 2010 and broker than I’ve ever been in my life. Rent?  Just about do-able. I met an artist friend last night for a drink in my local; over the course of two hours we each sipped a small glass of red wine and chomped through a bag of nuts she brought with her. I want to buy a song from EMI Music Publishing to use in my forthcoming memoir (Andromeda Heights, by Prefab Sprout) and I am faced with having to actually call up a lit-fest that owes me money and explain how badly I need to be paid.

Readers, don’t worry. A writer’s life is also this: planning to leave the country at the end of October to do a sea-voyage, (research for the next novel). Planning to write some of it in Cuba, planning to learn how to sail and dance and – of course –  reading reading, reading – in bed all day if I like (currently on the go is Sara Maitland’s great book on silence) and knowing lots of other ne’er do wells and down and outs who also write and knowing this is how most of us live: up (Orange) and down.  Over time, we all get more or less accustomed to it. My mother wanted such a different life for me. But, in three weeks I’ll be 45. It’s only just dawned on her, I think, this life I have chosen to live. It’s  not a phase.

Pass the jam.

~ by moniqueroffey on April 6, 2010.

3 Responses to “strong coffee, buns and being a writer”

  1. […] Roffey, author of The White Woman on the Green Bicycle, on the realities of a writer’s life. And she linked to my […]

  2. Hola! I’ve been following your weblog for a while now and finally got the bravery
    to go ahead and give you a shout out from Huffman Texas!
    Just wanted to say keep up the fantastic job!

  3. It’s an awesome piece of writing designed for all the
    internet viewers; they will take benefit from it I am sure.

Leave a Reply

 
